Minecraft Dungeons: How to unlock the Lower Temple level

Minecraft Dungeons has a bunch of hidden levels, which must be unlocked by finding a map in an adjacent main level. As part of the Jungle Awakens DLC update, Mojang has added the brand new “Lower Temple” level, which was already teased in some early marketing material.

It’s not a huge level, but it does have some cool new items including dual crossbows and combat staffs, and is filled with desert biome-style mobs, including husks and tribal skeletons. Here’s how to unlock it.

  1. Go to the Desert temple level. We unlocked it on Apocalypse difficulty, but it’s probably available at any level.

    Source: Windows Central

  2. About a third of the way up, you’ll come across a hallway filled with water and hieroglyphic designs on the walls. Turn left and you should see an entrance to another section.

    Minecraft Dungeons Lower HallsSource: Windows Central

  3. Here there are four beacons that need to be activated to open a bridge.
  4. On the other side of the bridge is your Lower Temple map!

    Minecraft Dungeons Lower HallsSource: Windows Central

Previously, this bridge contained a chest, so many of you may already know where it is. It is not clear if the card appears all time you enter the dungeon or not, but if it’s not the first time, try again.

The Jungle Awakens DLC is definitely worth picking up, even though this lower Temple tier is free. Jungle Awakens contains three big new levels, a bunch of extra gear, and new monsters and bosses to fight. You can grab it from the Microsoft Store for $10 as part of the Hero Edition, or grab it with Xbox Game Pass.

Related: Complete Minecraft Dungeons Tier List